btn toggle

Danzig Gruppen

Danzig Gruppen (in English: The Danzig Group) was established on the 7th of October 1990 in Næstved (A small city in the Southern part of Zealand) in connection with a National stamp exhibition.

From the start 32 members were registered. Among these were collectors from Sweden, Norway and Iceland. Later the number of members increased to 92. From the start it was decided that Danzig Gruppen to be a group of collectors from The Scandinavian Countries (Sweden, Norway, Finland, Iceland, Faeroe Islands and Denmark).

Also it was decided that the group should have a quarterly magazine; named Danzig Nyt (in English: Danzig News) covering articles on stamps etc. from Danzig, The Baltic States and Poland.

Even before the establishing, the Danzig Gruppen had connections to Danzig clubs in Germany, England and USA. From Germany we received congratulation from Arge Danzig to our first regular quarterly.

During the 11 years lifetime of Danzig Gruppen more than 50 issues of Danzig Nyt was send out to the members and associated clubs, as well as 7 special issues covering different items i.e. “Innendienst issues”, postal history, “slanted overprint issues”,  faked and back-dated cancellations, a translation of Tom Hulkenberg “Advertising stamps”, Historical events in the Baltic Countries and Danzig, Postal rates for Danzig incl. Zeppelin Flights, etc.

Danzig Nyt started with some 16 pages in A5 format printed in black and white, later it increased to 64 pages in colour.

After 11 years, Curt Hosny, president of Danzig Gruppen and editor of Danzig Nyt wanted to withdraw from his positions for personal reasons. None of the members wanted to take up the positions, which resulted in a vacuum leading to the end of Danzig Gruppen.

The first steps of Danzig Gruppen at Scandinavia

On the Arge Danzig meeting at Hamm-Pelkum May 19th, 1990 following members made their congratulation to the new group Danzig Gruppen and magazine Danzig Nyt: Karl Kniep – Krista Heller – Ronald van Waardhuizen – Sygfried Stoye – Udo Klein – Burton Miller – Horst Appitz – Heinz-Jochem Pauli – Hans Vogels – Georg Cassau – Harald Strohbusch – Klaus Wolff – Horst Peter Schmieja – Peter Witkop – R. Hillenbrand – V. Horak – Ton Hulkenberg – Hans Georg Mencke – Hans-J. Düsterwald and Willy Deiniger.